Angeles University Foundation School of Medicine

Angeles Foundation.jpg
Angeles University Foundation 2009 Angeles City, Philippines
1092 Henson Angeles Central Luzon 2009 PH


About the School of Medicine


The Angeles University Foundation School of Medicine, which was established by the authority of the Board of Medical Education and the Department of Education, Culture, and Sports, started its operations in June 1983, with an authorized quota of 150 students. Dr. Rodolfo C. Dimayuga was appointed as the first Dean, Dr. Presentacion C. Peralta as Assistant Dean, concurrently College Secretary, and a faculty of 18, 8 of whom have had an average of 20 years teaching experience.

In its first year of operation, the College was given the entire fourth floor of Building B, called the San Lorenzo Ruiz Hall, to house a big air-conditioned lecture room with a seating capacity of 160, the laboratories and stock rooms of Anatomy, Biochemistry, Physiology, and Preventive Medicine, all equipped with facilities adequate to pursue the laboratory requirements, and the offices of the Dean and the faculty.

The following year, half of the third floor of the same building was also given to the College to accommodate another big air-conditioned lecture room, the laboratories and stock rooms of Pathology, Microbiology and Parasitology, and faculty offices. In its third year of operation, half of the remaining area of the third floor was further acquired by the College for another big air-conditioned lecture room, which can be converted into 6 small rooms for group discussions and a bigger office for the Dean.

Before the College had its own teaching hospital, the Central Luzon Regional Hospital, now known as the Jose B. Lingad Memorial Regional Hospital, a 250-bed service and training hospital for Region III had been and still is utilized for clinical teaching. The affiliation of the College with this government hospital was approved by the Department of Health for which a contract of agreement between the 2 institutions is executed every 2 years. In addition, a departmentalized Out-Patient Department was established within the University Campus in March 1985.

On February 23, 1990, the St. Martin de Porres Hall, a 125-bed teaching hospital owned by the University was inaugurated with former President Corazon C. Aquino as principal sponsor. It was only on May 25, 1990 that the hospital, now known as the AUF Medical Center, opened its doors to serve the community. Dr. Rodolfo C. Dimayuga, who resigned as Dean of the College in October 1989, was appointed the first Director of the hospital. Dr. Presentacion C. Peralta succeeded as the second Dean of the College with Dr. Angelica D. Francisco as College Secretary, effective November 1, 1989. In April 1991, Dr. Linda Luz G. Amante replaced Dr. Francisco as College Secretary while Dr. Reynaldo Lopez was appointed Assistant Dean. Effective June 15, 1992, the new officials of the College are as follows: Dr. Reynaldo V. Lopez, Dean, Dr. Edwin F. Vivares, Assistant Dean, and Dr. Armando A. Rosales, College Secretary. In April 1994, Dr. Marivic C. Amigable-Villamor was appointed as Assistant Dean and concurrently College Secretary.

As of May 1, 1996, Dr. Anita S. Sanchez was appointed as College Secretary. On June 1, 1996, Dr. Reynaldo E. Espiritu was appointed as Assistant Dean for the Basic Sciences while Dr. Romeo Y. Enriquez was assistant Dean for the Clinical Sciences.

Effective May 1, 1998, the following are the new officials of the College: Dr. Romeo Y. Enriquez, Dean and Dr. Kathryna Lesley Tamayo-Ayro, College Secretary. Dr. Anita S. Sanchez was re-appointed as College Secretary from May 1, 2002 to April 30,2004, then as Assistant Dean starting May 1,2004.

At present, the College is located at the third and fourth floors of the San Lorenzo Ruiz and San Agustin twin buildings which were inaugurated on December 1994 to replace the old San Lorenzo Ruiz Hall which was gutted down by fire on March 17, 1993.

The College, the eleventh academic unit organized by the University, started with 150 students in school year 1983-1984. In line with its commitment of providing quality education, a policy of selective retention was implemented. Only 48 of the original 150 remained as the first graduates of the college. To date, the College has produced 910 doctors, four of whom have placed in the top 20 of the Physicians’ Licensure Examinations.

Upon approval of the Board of Trustees, an innovative curriculum utilizing problem-based learning as a teaching-learning approach was implemented in June 2000.

Mission Statement

The School of Medicine is committed to promote quality and relevant medical education, thereby producing quality and compassionate medical practitioners with a social conscience, dedicated to the service of God and humanity.

Philosophy and goals

Medical education in the Philippines continues to be charged with being so hospital-oriented that it has failed to produce physicians who are responsive to the needs of the country. Instead, its products, being tailor-made for practice in the developed countries, easily leave the country. Moreover, the cost of medical education has become so prohibitive that admission to medical school is almost limited to the elite.

The Angeles University Foundation established the medical school, which is university-based, community-oriented, and committed to develop broadly educated physicians.

The School of Medicine has the following objectives:

  1. To prepare the students to practice medicine in the service of God and humanity;
  2. To instill within the students the human qualities of dedication to duty, kindness, patience, tolerance, and compassion;
  3. To encourage and maintain awareness of the social and economic conditions of the country and of the world at large;
  4. To equip the students with adequate knowledge of and skills in the basic medical sciences, the clinical disciplines, and preventive medicine;
  5. To inspire the students to keep abreast with new developments, innovations and researches in the field of medicine; and
  6. To motivate the students to pursue expanded expertise in their field of specialization.

With the School of Medicine, the College of Nursing, the College of Allied Medical Professions and the Medical Library as the constituent units, the   AUF Medical Center, which is education, service, and research-oriented, aims to:

  1. provide
    • undergraduate and postgraduate medical education to qualified students, especially in Region III, who will form a pool that will provide the medical manpower needs of the region;
    • continuing medical education to update medical practitioners in the region on advances in medical science and practice;
  2. provide not only secondary and tertiary medical care services to the region but also, through its community extensions, primary medical care;
  3. contribute to the advancement of medical knowledge and its effective delivery through research.

– See more at:

Angeles Foundation.jpg 8 years ago
Showing 1 result
Showing 1 - 12 of 154 results